Home
www.avaw-unileoben.at/en/
Chair of Waste Processing Technology and Waste Management // Montanuniversitaet Leoben
Navigation

PCCL-K1

Project long title

Improving the quality of recycled polymer waste

 

Project description

Improving the Circular Economy and sustainable use of materials and resources has become a major issue during the recent years. Especially the plastics industry has to focus on challenging topics along the entire life-cycle, such as reuse, recyclability, biodegradability, hazardous substances and concerns in marine litter. A major technical challenge in the industry segment has been identified by the high variation in the quality of recycled polymers. E.g., commercially available recycled “clean” PE‑HD pipe grades are based on mixtures of polyethylene grades for different applications (cast film, blow moulding, injection moulding, extrusion) or even contain fractions of polypropylene (PP). In a preceding PCCL project (VI-3.07) it was shown that the lifetime-relevant material properties such as slow crack growth resistance are significantly reduced by, e.g., only a few percent of blow moulding grade. Also, only minimum fractions (<5%) of PP incorporations result in a severe drop in slow crack growth resistance. For the time being, no specifications for the quality of polymer recyclates have been defined. The quality of the recycled polymers highly depends on the respective composition of current post-consumer resources, which is continuously changing. Additional sorting steps of state-of-the-art presorted polymer recyclates will allow for an improvement of the quality and consistency of such materials.

 

Project duration

01.05.2021 – 31.12.2024

 

Aims of the project

The project aims at the development of new sorting strategies in the mechanical recycling of post-consumer polymers to achieve recyclate qualities of better, more reproducible and less variable quality. Hence, the main objective of this project is to establish non-destructive characterization methods in order to obtain information about material composition, chemical and physical structure, the presence of additives, and the state of aging. For this purpose, multivariate data analysis in combination with modern methods of big data processing and automated decision by artificial intelligence (AI) will be applied. Additionally, possibilities for the use of fillers and dedicated additives to improve the uniformity and quality of recycled materials will be assessed.

Although these methods shall be applicable for all types of polymers inside existing recycling streams, the focus of this project will initially be limited to PE, PP and PVC.

In contrast to many other polymers, a specific characteristic of PE and - to some extent - also for PP is its high diversity based on tailored variations in the molecular and morphological structure, which results in a high variety of applications, ranging from flexible packaging to structural applications. Whilst in current recycling processes a material sorting into base polymers is well established, a further differentiation of sorted PE and PP into their different variations is not done, except from density in some cases. Based on the state-of-the-art in mechanical material recycling, the new methods developed in this project will allow for improving the degree of material sorting, based on the chemical and physical structure of the post-consumer polymer waste. Regarding PE a further separation by density, branching or molar mass distribution would be desirable. For PP the detection of structural properties like tacticity or the differentiation between homo- and copolymer are aimed at. Additional features are the recognition and separation of mineral fillers, black, printed or aged material as well as materials containing additives and fillers that are not compliant with European Guidelines on Restriction of Hazardous Substances (e.g., 2011/65/EU; RoHS 2)). A special case is the correct identification of PVC and its fillers.

 

Work packages, deliverables & milestones

The project PCCL-K1 consists of five work packages with several deliverables and milestones (see the figure below).

Projektbeschreibung Pccl-k1 Deutsch English

 

Funding

Ffg Logo The Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG)

 

Project partner

Budapest University Logo Budapest University of Technology and Economics

Pccl Logo Polymer Competence Center Leoben GmbH - PCCL

Poloplast Logo Poloplast GmbH & Co KG

Prezero Logo PreZero Polymers Austria GmbH

Redwave LogoREDWAVE, a division of BT-Wolfgang Binder GmbH

 

 

You can send a message directly to the project responsible Mister Dipl.-Ing. Karl Friedrich by using the following form.

Karl Friedrich

Karl Friedrich

Dipl.-Ing.
Scientific staff

Phone: +43 3842 / 402-5139
Cell: +43 664 / 51 57 57 0
Fax: +43 3842 / 402-5102
E-mail: karl.friedrich@unileoben.ac.at

 
Pflichtfeld
Pflichtfeld
Pflichtfeld
 

You can send us a message, if you want to...

 
 

Please fill in all fields marked with Pflichtfeld

Fenster schließen
PCCL-K1

Home
www.avaw-unileoben.at
Lehrstuhl für Abfallverwertungstechnik und Abfallwirtschaft // Montanuniversität Leoben
Navigation

PCCL-K1

Projektlangtitel

Verbesserung der Qualität von recycelten Polymerabfällen

 

Projektbeschreibung

Die Verbesserung der Kreislaufwirtschaft und die nachhaltige Nutzung von Materialien und Ressourcen sind in den letzten Jahren zu einem wichtigen Thema geworden. Insbesondere die Kunststoffindustrie muss sich entlang des gesamten Lebenszyklus auf anspruchsvolle Themen wie Wiederverwendung, Recyclingfähigkeit, biologische Abbaubarkeit, Gefahrstoffe und Bedenken in Meeresmüll konzentrieren. Eine große technische Herausforderung im Industriesegment wird in der hohen Qualitätsschwankung der recycelten Polymere erkannt. Handelsübliche recycelte „saubere“ PE-HD-Rohrtypen basieren beispielsweise auf Mischungen von Polyethylen-Typen für unterschiedliche Anwendungen (Folie, Blasformen, Spritzguss, Extrusion) oder enthalten sogar Anteile von Polypropylen (PP). In einem vorangegangenen PCCL-Projekt (VI-3.07) konnte gezeigt werden, dass die lebensdauerrelevanten Materialeigenschaften wie z. Auch führen nur minimale Anteile (<5%) von PP-Einbauten zu einem starken Abfall der Beständigkeit gegen langsames Risswachstum. Vorerst sind keine Vorgaben zur Qualität von Polymerrezyklaten definiert. Die Qualität der recycelten Polymere hängt stark von der jeweiligen Zusammensetzung aktueller Post-Consumer-Ressourcen ab, die sich ständig verändert. Zusätzliche Sortierschritte modernster vorsortierter Polymerrezyklate werden eine Verbesserung der Qualität und Konsistenz solcher Materialien ermöglichen.

 

Projektdauer

01.05.2021 – 31.12.2024

 

Projektziele

Ziel des Projekts ist die Entwicklung neuer Sortierstrategien im mechanischen Recycling von Post-Consumer-Polymeren, um Rezyklatqualitäten von besserer, reproduzierbarer und weniger schwankender Qualität zu erreichen. Das Hauptziel dieses Projektes ist daher die Etablierung zerstörungsfreier Charakterisierungsmethoden, um Aussagen über die Materialzusammensetzung, die chemische und physikalische Struktur, das Vorhandensein von Additiven und den Alterungszustand zu erhalten. Dazu wird multivariate Datenanalyse in Kombination mit modernen Methoden der Big-Data-Verarbeitung und automatisierter Entscheidung durch künstliche Intelligenz (KI) angewendet. Darüber hinaus werden Möglichkeiten für den Einsatz von Füllstoffen und speziellen Additiven zur Verbesserung der Gleichmäßigkeit und Qualität von Recyclingmaterialien bewertet.

Obwohl diese Methoden für alle Arten von Polymeren innerhalb bestehender Recyclingströme anwendbar sein sollen, wird sich der Fokus dieses Projekts zunächst auf PE, PP und PVC beschränken.

Im Gegensatz zu vielen anderen Polymeren ist eine besondere Eigenschaft von PE und teilweise auch von PP die hohe Diversität durch maßgeschneiderte Variationen der molekularen und morphologischen Struktur, die zu einer großen Anwendungsvielfalt von flexiblen Verpackungen bis hin zu strukturelle Anwendungen. Während in aktuellen Recyclingprozessen eine stoffliche Sortierung in Basispolymere etabliert ist, wird eine weitere Differenzierung von sortenreinem PE und PP in ihre unterschiedlichen Varianten, außer teilweise nach Dichte, nicht vorgenommen. Basierend auf dem Stand der Technik des mechanischen Materialrecyclings werden die in diesem Projekt entwickelten neuen Verfahren eine Verbesserung des stofflichen Sortiergrades, basierend auf der chemischen und physikalischen Struktur der Post-Consumer-Polymerabfälle, ermöglichen. Bei PE wäre eine weitere Trennung nach Dichte, Verzweigung oder Molmassenverteilung wünschenswert. Bei PP wird der Nachweis struktureller Eigenschaften wie Taktizität oder die Unterscheidung zwischen Homo- und Copolymer angestrebt. Weitere Merkmale sind die Erkennung und Trennung von mineralischen Füllstoffen, schwarzem, bedrucktem oder gealtertem Material sowie Materialien mit Additiven und Füllstoffen, die nicht den europäischen Richtlinien zur Beschränkung gefährlicher Stoffe (z. B. 2011/65/EU; RoHS 2) entsprechen) . Ein Sonderfall ist die korrekte Identifizierung von PVC und seinen Füllstoffen.

 

Arbeitspakete, Leistungen, & Meilensteine

Das Projekt PCCL-K1 besteht aus fünf Arbeitspaketen,sowie mehreren Leistungsberichten und Meilensteinen (siehe Abbildung unten).

Projektbeschreibung Pccl-k1 Deutsch English

 

Fördergeber

Ffg Logo Österreichische Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft (FFG)

 

Projektpartner

Budapest University Logo Budapest University of Technology and Economics

Pccl Logo Polymer Competence Center Leoben GmbH - PCCL

Poloplast Logo Poloplast GmbH & Co KG

Prezero Logo PreZero Polymers Austria GmbH

Redwave LogoREDWAVE, a division of BT-Wolfgang Binder GmbH

 

 

Sie können dem Projektverantwortlichen Herrn Dipl.-Ing. Karl Friedrich mit nachstehendem Formular gerne direkt eine Anfrage senden.

Karl Friedrich

Karl Friedrich

Dipl.-Ing.
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Telefon: +43 3842 / 402-5139
Mobil: +43 676 / 84 53 86-839
Fax: +43 3842 / 402-5102
E-Mail: karl.friedrich@unileoben.ac.at

 
Pflichtfeld
Pflichtfeld
Pflichtfeld
 

Wenn Sie möchten, können Sie uns auch eine Nachricht mitsenden...

 
 

Bitte alle mit Pflichtfeld gekennzeichneten Felder ausfüllen

Fenster schließen
PCCL-K1