Home
www.avaw-unileoben.at/en/
Chair of Waste Processing Technology and Waste Management // Montanuniversitaet Leoben
Navigation

MultiLayerDetection

Project long title

Identification of multilayer films in plastic sorting to increase the recycling of packaging film waste

Foliensammlung

 

Project description

The material recycling of plastics will require rapid innovations in the next five years to achieve the EU-wide environmental policy goals. The project aims to increase the recycling rate for packaging films. Single-layer and multilayer films are used in this area, the latter not being recyclable with the prior art.

The project aims at a new sorting technology for packaging films. This is to be achieved by using new sensor sorting methods based on near-infrared spectroscopy to separate recyclable and non-recyclable materials in multilayer films. The targeted sorting of multilayer films then enables a new quality of the recyclate with a significantly reduced proportion of foreign matter.

 

Aims of the project

The project aims to increase the recycling rate for packaging films. Single-layer and multilayer films are used in this area, the latter being difficult to recycle with the current state of the art machines. The project, therefore, aims at a new sorting technology for packaging films based on near-infrared spectroscopy. This is done to separate recyclable and non-recyclable materials. The targeted sorting of multilayer films then enables a new quality of the recyclate with a significantly reduced proportion of foreign matter.

 

Benefits for Styria as a business location

The project results form the basis for the development of industrially usable sensor technology. It is planned to publish the project results in at least two publications in scientific, peer-reviewed journals. Any patentable project results are protected accordingly before publication. These publications and the optional patent strengthen the reputation of Styria and thus that of the recycling companies located here as technological and scientific innovators.

 

Improvement of the spectral quality of thin-layer materials

The low material thickness of film materials makes sorting using near-red spectroscopy considerably more difficult. The interaction of the near-infrared radiation with the material's molecular structure is made more difficult by the low material thickness. This leads to spectra that are only of limited use for sorting, as shown in the spectrum [B] in the figure below. The spectral quality of thin multilayer and single-layer films can be improved by adapting the measurement geometry of a state-of-the-art near-infrared sorter. See spectrum [A] in the figure below.

Abbildung 5

 

Project milestones

The multilayer detection project aims to achieve the following goals:

  • Analysis of the current end of life situation of multilayer films
  • Survey of the currently usual quality of multilayer film recyclates
  • Findings about the current composition of multilayer films
  • NIR based identification of multilayer structure and material composition
  • Evaluation of methods to optimize the detection of multilayer films
  • Carrying out sorting tests

 

Publications

Title
Recycling von Multilayerfolien

Journal
Österreichische Wasser- und Abfallwirtschaft

DOI
10.1007/s00506-021-00813-w

Publication date
2021-11-15

 

Funding

Zukunftsfond Stmk Zukunftsfond Steiermark

 

Project partners

Pccl 1 Polymer Competence Center Leoben GmbH - PCCL

 

Project media

Poster Englisch Small

 

 

You can send a message directly to the project responsible Mister Dipl.-Ing. Gerald Koinig by using the following form.

Gerald Koinig

Gerald Koinig

Dipl.-Ing.
Scientific staff

Phone: +43 3842 / 402-5143
Cell: +43 670 / 20 64 755
Fax: +43 3842 / 402-5102
E-mail: gerald.koinig@unileoben.ac.at

 
Pflichtfeld
Pflichtfeld
Pflichtfeld
 

You can send us a message, if you want to...

 
 

Please fill in all fields marked with Pflichtfeld

Fenster schließen
MultiLayerDetection

Home
www.avaw-unileoben.at
Lehrstuhl für Abfallverwertungstechnik und Abfallwirtschaft // Montanuniversität Leoben
Navigation

MultiLayerDetection

Projektlangtitel

Identifizierung von Mehrschichtfolien in der Kunststoffsortierung zur Steigerung der stofflichen Verwertung von Verpackungsfolienabfällen

Foliensammlung

 

Projektbeschreibung

Das stoffliche Recycling von Kunststoffen bedarf in den nächsten fünf Jahren sprunghafter Innovationen, um die EU-weit gesetzten umweltpolitischen Ziele zu erreichen. Das Ziel des Projektes ist die Erhöhung der Recyclingquote von Verpackungsfolien. In diesem Bereich kommen sowohl Einschicht- als auch Mehrschichtfolien zum Einsatz, wobei letztere mit dem Stand der Technik nicht rezyklierbar sind.

Das Projekt zielt auf eine neue Sortiertechnik für Verpackungsfolien. Erreicht werden soll das durch den Einsatz von neuen Sensorsortiermethoden auf Basis von Naher-Infrarot-Spektroskopie, um bei Mehrschichtfolien eine Trennung von rezyklierbaren und nicht-rezyklierbaren Materialien herbeizuführen. Die gezielte Sortierung von Mehrschichtfolien ermöglicht dann eine neue Qualität des Rezyklates mit wesentlich verringerten Fremdstoffanteilen.

 

Projektziele

Das Ziel des Projektes ist die Erhöhung der Recyclingquote von Verpackungsfolien. In diesem Bereich kommen sowohl Einschicht- als auch Mehrschichtfolien zum Einsatz, wobei letztere mit dem Stand der Technik nicht rezyklierbar sind. Das Projekt zielt daher auf eine neue Sortiertechnik für Verpackungsfolien auf Basis der Nah-Infrarot-Spektroskopie ab. Dies geschieht um eine Trennung von rezyklierbaren und nicht-rezyklierbaren Materialien herbeizuführen. Die gezielte Sortierung von Mehrschichtfolien ermöglicht dann eine neue Qualität des Rezyklates mit wesentlich verringerten Fremdstoffanteilen.

 

Nutzen für den Wirtschaftsstandort Steiermark

Die Projektergebnisse stellen die Grundlage für die Entwicklung einer industriell nutzbaren Sensortechnologie dar. Es ist vorgesehen, die Projektergebnisse in zumindest zwei Publikationen in wissenschaftlichen, peer-reviewten Journalen zu veröffentlichen. Dabei werden eventuell patentierbare Projektergebnisse vor der Veröffentlichung entsprechend geschützt. Diese Veröffentlichungen und das optionale Patent stärken den Ruf der Steiermark und damit den der hier situierten Recyclingunternehmer als technologische und wissenschaftliche Innovatoren.

 

Verbesserung der Spektralgüte von dünnschichtigen Materialien

Die geringe Materialdicke von Folienwerkstoffen erschwert die Sortierung mittels nahinfrahrotspektroskopie erheblich. Durch die gerigne Materialdicke wird die Interaktion der Nahinfrarotstrahlung mit dem molekularen Aufbau des Werkstoffes erschwert. Dies führt zu Spektren, die für die Sortierung nur bedingt brauchbar sind wie dargestellt in Spektrum [B] der nachfolgenden Abbildung. Durch Anpassung der Messgeometrie eines State Of The Art Nahrinfratorsortierers kann die Spektralgüte dünner Mehrschicht- und Einschichtfolien verbessert werden. Siehe Spektrum [A] in der nachfolgenden Abbildung.

Abbildung 5

 

Projektmeilensteine

Das Projekt Multilayer Detection soll folgende Ziele erreichen:

  • Analyse der derzeitigen End Of Life Situation von Mehrschichtfolien
  • Erhebung der derzeit üblichen Qualität von Mehrschichtfolienrecyklaten
  • Erkenntnisse über die derzeitige Zusammensetzung von Mehrschichtfolien
  • NIR basierte Identifizierung von Mehrschichtaufbau und Materialzusammensetzung
  • Evaluierung von Methoden zur Optimierung der Erkennung von Mehrschichtfolien
  • Durchführung von Sortierversuchen

 

Publikationen

Title
Recycling von Multilayerfolien

Journal
Österreichische Wasser- und Abfallwirtschaft

DOI
10.1007/s00506-021-00813-w

Publication Date
2021-11-15

 

Fördergeber

Zukunftsfond Stmk Zukunftsfond Steiermark

 

Projektpartner

Pccl 1 Polymer Competence Center Leoben GmbH - PCCL

 

Projektaushang

Poster Multilayer Small

 

 

Sie können dem Projektverantwortlichen Herrn Dipl.-Ing. Gerald Koinig mit nachstehendem Formular gerne direkt eine Anfrage senden.

Gerald Koinig

Gerald Koinig

Dipl.-Ing.
Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter

Telefon: +43 3842 / 402-5143
Mobil: +43 670 / 20 64 755
Fax: +43 3842 / 402-5102
E-Mail: gerald.koinig@unileoben.ac.at

 
Pflichtfeld
Pflichtfeld
Pflichtfeld
 

Wenn Sie möchten, können Sie uns auch eine Nachricht mitsenden...

 
 

Bitte alle mit Pflichtfeld gekennzeichneten Felder ausfüllen

Fenster schließen
MultiLayerDetection